Apple Distinguished School Status

SJB is delighted to announce that it has been recognised as an Apple Distinguished School for 2021-2024. Apple Distinguished Schools are centres of innovation, leadership and educational excellence that use Apple products to inspire creativity, collaboration, and critical thinking.

They showcase innovative uses of technology in learning, teaching and the school environment, and have documented results of academic accomplishment.

Learn more about our teaching and learning with technology as an Apple Distinguished School


Report an incidence of bullying or harassment

Bullying at this school will not be tolerated

If you are being bullied or harassed, or you know of any bullying/harassment happening within the school, please report it using the link below.

Your concerns will be dealt with discretely.

Report an incident of bullying or harassment


SJB is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of young people.

If you have a concern about a student or you receive information that leads you to be concerned that a student has been harmed, is at risk of harm or their welfare is being compromised, please contact 

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a young person’s welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our students are discussed with their parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the young person’s welfare.

At SJB we take the wellbeing and the safety of our students very seriously. We have an extensive network of agencies and staff that can offer support to any young person and their family. We can also offer advice to signpost families in need of help.

If you are concerned about a child in anyway or wish to raise a concern about poor or unsafe practice then please contact someone on the list below or the safeguarding email link above as soon as possible.

HeadteacherMr J Granville HamsharHeadteacher
Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)Mr D KellyDeputy Head i/c Pastoral Care
Deputy Designated Safeguarding LeadMrs L KennyAssistant Head / SENCO
Deputy Designated Safeguarding LeadMandy HughesHead of Inclusion
Deputy Designated Safeguarding LeadMr L EvansAssistant Head i/c KS4
Deputy Designated Safeguarding LeadMr M McKennaAssistant Head i/c KS3
Designated Governor for Safeguarding and Child ProtectionDonna HuntSafeguarding Link Governor
Chair of GovernorsRuth EganChair of Governors

Click here to report an incidence of bullying or harassment

Click here to report a safeguarding concern

Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy 2022

Governors Committees List 2022-2023

Finance & General

Frequency: 4/5 meetings per year

James Granville Hamshar
Steve Day
Yvonne Dore (SBM)
Ruth Egan
Emma Andrews
Anna del Vecchio (Facilities Manager)
Tony Box
Christiana Ugowe

Admissions & Appeals

Frequency: September and March

Ruth Egan
Damien Kelly (Asst Head)
Tony Box
Claire Antal – Admissions Manager

Curriculum & Achievement/Staffing & Welfare

Dec plus ad hoc for staffing interviews

James Granville Hamshar
Ollie Whiddett
Rosie Jenner
Christiana Ugowe

Spiritual Life Group

Frequency: Half termly, term-time

Chris Newling-Ward
Jamie Haselden (Asst Head)
Donna Hunt
Fr Paul Turner
Head Boy & Head Girl

Safeguarding Group

Frequency: Termly, term-time

Donna Hunt
Mandy Hughes (SENCO)
Lisa Kenny (Asst Head)
Damien Kelly (Asst Head)

Dates of Committee Meetings

Full Governors’ Meeting (5.00pm)


Finance and General Committee (8.30am)

04/10/2022 – Review last Academic Year (Q1-4)
10/01/2023 – Review Q1 (Sept-Nov)
28/03/2023 – Review Q2 (Dec-Feb)
09/06/2023 – Provisional meeting to approve any material changes required to the budget before submission to MAT

Curriculum & Achievement/Staffing & Welfare Committee (5.00pm)


Admissions and Appeals Committee (8.00am)


Safeguarding Committee (8.00am)


Spiritual Life Group (3.40pm)


School Mass


Governing Body

Table of Governors 2022-2023

NameStatusResponsibilities/Committee MembershipStart of OfficeEnd of OfficeDeclaration
Ruth EganFoundationChair of Governors19/08/202018/08/2024None
Finance & General
Admissions Committee
James Granville HamsharEx-officioFinance & GeneralNone
Staffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement
Tony BoxCo-optedFinance & General06/10/202005/10/2024None
Admissions Committee
Chris Newling-WardFoundationSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education01/09/202131/08/2025None
Fr Paul TurnerFoundationSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education31/01/202330/01/2027None
Steven DayFoundationFinance & General01/09/202131/08/2025None
Vice Chair of Governors
Ollie WhiddettFoundationStaffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement17/11/202016/11/2024None
Link Governors KS4
Careers link Governor
Emma AndrewsParentFinance & General06/01/202005/01/2024None
Health & Safety and Premises Link Governor
Donna HuntParentSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education04/10/202103/10/2025None
Safeguarding Committee
SEND link Governor
Christiana UgoweFoundationFinance & General20/09/202119/09/2025None
Staffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement
Link Governor for KS3
John CunninghamFoundationFinance & General12/10/202111/10/2025None
Pupil Premium Governor
Rosie JennerFoundationStaffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement12/10/202111/10/2025None
Link Governor for KS5
Careers link Governor

Xavier Catholic Education Trust

St John the Baptist School is part The Xavier Catholic Education Trust.

The Xavier Catholic Education Trust was set up in 2016. Our mission is to provide an outstanding Catholic education for all the children in our schools. We will follow the example and teachings of Christ and everything we do will be inspired by gospel values. We will strive for excellence in all areas of our work and cherish every child in our care.

Details of the other schools in the trust are schools can be found here.

For more information please see their website:

If you would like to contact Xavier the central team can be reached at:

Guildford Road
KT16 9LU

Telephone: 01932 582 595

Term Dates