Governors Committees List 2022-2023

Admissions & Appeals

Steven Day
Ruth Egan
Damien Kelly (Asst Head)
Claire Antal – Admissions Manager

Staffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement

James Granville Hamshar
Ollie Whiddett
Rosie Jenner
Christiana Ugowe

Spiritual Life Group

Chris Newling-Ward
Jamie Haselden (Asst Head)
Donna Hunt
Fr Paul Turner
Head Boy & Head Girl

Safeguarding Group

Rosie Jenner
Mandy Hughes (SENCO)
Mike McKenna (Asst Head)

Dates of Committee Meetings

This page is currently being updated

Governing Body

Table of Governors 2023-2024

NameStatusResponsibilities/Committee MembershipOriginal date appointed to the TrustEnd of TermDeclaration
Ruth EganFoundationChair of Governors01/09/201318/08/2024None
James Granville HamsharEx-officioStaffing & Welfare/Curriculum & AchievementNone
Chris Newling-WardFoundationSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education01/09/201731/08/2025None
Fr Paul TurnerFoundationSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education01/10/201830/01/2027None
Steven DayFoundationAdmissions Committee07/10/201706/10/2025None
Vice Chair of Governors
Ollie WhiddettFoundationStaffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement17/11/202016/11/2024None
Link Governors KS4
Careers link Governor
Emma AndrewsParentHealth & Safety and Premises Link Governor06/01/202005/01/2024None
Donna HuntParentSpiritual Life Group and Religious Education04/10/202103/10/2025None
SEND link Governor
Christiana UgoweFoundationLink Governor for KS3 20/09/202119/09/2025None
Staffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement
John CunninghamFoundationPupil Premium Governor12/10/202111/10/2025None
Rosie JennerFoundationStaffing & Welfare/Curriculum & Achievement12/10/202111/10/2025None
Link Governor for KS5
Safeguarding Committee
Careers link Governor


The Governors are drawn from the local community and freely give their time and expertise in order to support the work of the school. There are several different categories of Governor:

  • Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese;
  • Parent Governors are appointed by self-nomination and parent vote where necessary;
  • Staff Governors are appointed by self-nomination and staff vote where necessary;
  • Local Authority and Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Board.

We are blessed to have a committed and multi-talented Governing Board with a wide variety of experience and expertise.

The Governors act as ‘critical friends’ to the school working closely with the Headteacher and play a strategic role in the running of the school. This includes maintaining the ethos of St John the Baptist as a Catholic school under the direction of the Bishop, setting aims and objectives, adopting policies and setting targets.

This is achieved through regular meetings – the full Governing Body meets three times a year and three committees (Resources, Staffing and Curriculum, Community and Spiritual Life) meet termly. At these meetings Governors are expected to ask relevant and challenging questions thus ensuring the school leadership is effective and accountable.

Governors are also a visible presence in the school sitting on interview panels for senior members of staff and attending school events supporting staff and students in their achievements and successes.

If you wish to contact or chair of governors Ruth Egan via email or send a letter marked for our attention to the school.